Top Trainer Paul Nicholls

Cheltenham Festival Trainers

The trainers are arguably the most important part of a rachorse's success. Of course they are not the one lugging around a ten stone weight over jumps and up hills for miles and miles, but they are the brains behind getting the horse fit in the first place and knowing where and when to race them. Having a winner at the Cheltenham Festival is one of the highlights of any racehorse trainer and the best trainers will have their horses primed and ready to go for the start of the Festival in March. The Cheltenham organisers have also introduced the Prestbury Cup, awarded to who gets the most Festival winners between Great Britain and Ireland.

Get the latest tips for the 2020 Cheltenham Festival.

Latest Cheltenham Top Trainer Odds

Awaiting Odds.......

2019 Prestbury Cup Odds

Awaiting Odds........

Top Cheltenham Festival Trainers

Paul Nicholls, Nicky Henderson and Willie Mullins have dominated the top trainer award at the Festival in recent years having been top trainer for the past eight years between them.

Nicky Henderson is the top Cheltenham Festival winning trainer still racing horses with 51 winners in a long and illustrious career. Perhaps Nicky Henderson will one day earn the accolade to have a Festival race named after him, like the aformentioned Walwyn and peers Fred Winter and Martin Pipe, who saddled over 100 winners between them at the Cheltenham Festival.

Year Trainer Winners
2019 Willie Mullins Three
2018 Gordon Elliott Eight
2017 Gordon Elliott Six
2016 Willie Mullins Seven
2015 Willie Mullins Eight
2014 Willie Mullins Four
2013 Willie Mullins Five
2012 Nicky Henderson Six
2011 Willie Mullins Four
2010 Nicky Henderson Three
2009 Paul Nicholls Five
2008 Paul Nicholls Three
2007 Paul Nicholls Four
2006 Paul Nicholls Three
2005 Howard Johnson Three
2004 Paul Nicholls Four
2003 Jonjo O'Neill Three
2002 Martin Pipe Three
2000 Nicky Henderson Four
1999 Paul Nicholls Three
1998 Martin Pipe Four
1997 Martin Pipe Four
1996 Ferdy Murphy, Edward O'Grady, Martin Pipe Two
1995 David Nicholson Three
1994 David Nicholson, Edward O'Grady, Martin Pipe Two
1993 Nicky Henderson, Martin Pipe, Nigel Twiston-Davies Two
1992 Nicky Henderson, David Nicholson, Simon Sherwood Two
1991 Martin Pipe Three
1990 Nicky Henderson Two

Get the latest odds for the Cheltenham Gold Cup.