2009 World Hurdle winner Big Bucks

Past Stayers Hurdle Winners

The World Hurdle, or Stayers Hurdle as it was previously known as is a race for the Champion stayers and since the Cheltenham Festival changed to a four day fomat this race became the big race of the Thursday of the meeting. Ruby Walsh became the first jockey to win the race more than twice when landing the 2011 World Hurdle aboard Big Bucks, who is dominating the division with four straight wins in the race.

Get the latest odds on the 2020 running of the Stayers' Hurdle.

Big Bucks is the most successful horse in the races history, having won it four times. The likes of Baracouda and Galmoy won the race twice and had it not been for the foot and mouth outbreak in 2001 the former may have won three, whilst Inglis Drever did win three World Hurdles.

Get a free bet on the 2020 Stayers' Hurdle.

World Hurdle Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2019 Paisley Park 7 A Coleman E Lavelle
2018 Penhill 7 P Townend W Mullins
2017 Nichols Canyon 8 R Walsh W Mullins
2016 Thistlecrack 8 T Scudamore C Tizzard
2015 Cole Harden 6 G Sheehan W Greatrex
2014 More Of That 6 B Geraghty J O'Neill
2013 Solwhit 9 P Carberry C Byrnes
2012 Big Bucks 9 R Walsh P Nicholls
2011 Big Bucks 8 R Walsh P Nicholls
2010 Big Bucks 7 R Walsh P Nicholls
2009 Big Bucks 6 R Walsh P Nicholls
2008 Inglis Drever 9 D O'Regan H Johnson
2007 Inglis Drever 8 P Brennan H Johnson
2006 My Way De Solzen 6 R Thornton A King
2005 Ingils Drever 6 G Lee H Johnson
2004 Iris's Gift 7 B Geraghty J O'Neill
2003 Baracouda 8 T Doumen F Doumen
2002 Baracouda 7 T Doumen F Doumen
2001 NO RACE      
2000 Bachannal 6 M Fitzgerald N Henderson
1999 Anzum 8 R Johnson D Nicholson
1998 Princeful 7 R Farrant J Pitman
1997 Karshi 7 J Osbourne H Knight
1996 Cyborgo 6 D Bridgewater M Pipe
1995 Dorans Pride 6 S Broderick M Hourigan
1994 Balasani 8 M Perrett M Pipe
1993 Shuil Ar Aghaidh 7 C Swann P Kiely
1992 Nomadic Way 7 J Osbourne B Hills
1991 King's Curate 7 M Perrett S Mellor
1990 Trapper John 6 C Swann M Morris

Check out the latest tips from Tom Lee on the 2020 Cheltenham Festival.

Check out the full results for the following Cheltenham World Hurdles:

2000 World Hurdle Result | 2002 World Hurdle Result | 2003 World Hurdle Result | 2004 World Hurdle Result | 2005 World Hurdle Result | 2006 World Hurdle Result | 2007 World Hurdle Result | 2008 World Hurdle Result | 2009 World Hurdle Result | 2010 World Hurdle Result | 2011 World Hurdle Result | 2012 World Hurdle Result | 2013 World Hurdle Result