2006 Cheltenham Gold Cup Winner War Of Attrition

Past Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners

The Gold Cup has long been seen as the 'Blue Riband' event of the Cheltenham Festival and over the years the race has thrown up some of the most famous National Hunt racehorses in history. The most successful horse in Gold Cup history is Golden Miller who won the race five times during the 1930's. In modern times Arkle won the race three times in a row in the sixties and the Henrietta Knight trained Best Mate won the race three consecutive times from 2002.

Get the latest odds on the 2020 Cheltenham Gold Cup.

The most successful trainer in the race is Tom Dreaper who won the race five times but it looks as though Paul Nicholls might equal and surpass that record in the next few years.

Get a free bet to use on the 2020 Cheltenham Festival.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners

Below is a list of all the Cheltenham Gold Cups dating back twenty years. In 2001 the Cheltenham Festival was cancelled due to the outbreak of Foot and Mouth disease in the British Isles and it was decided that it was too risky to hold the festival.

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2019 Al Boum Photo 7 P Townend W Mullins
2018 Native River 8 R Johnson C Tizzard
2017 Sizing John 7 R Power J Harrington
2016 Don Cossack 9 B Cooper G Elliott
2015 Coneygree 8 N de Boinville M Bradstock
2014 Lord Windermere 8 D Russell J Culloty
2013 Bobs Worth 8 B Geraghty N Henderson
2012 Synchronised 8 A McCoy J O'Neill
2011 Long Run 6 S Waley-Cohen N Henderson
2010 Imperial Commander 9 P Brennan N Twiston-Davies
2009 Kauto Star 9 R Walsh P Nicholls
2008 Denman 8 S Thomas P Nicholls
2007 Kauto Star 7 R Walsh P Nicholls
2006 War Of Attrition 7 C O'Dwyer M Morris
2005 Kicking King 7 B Geraghty T Taaffe
2004 Best Mate 9 J Culloty H Knight
2003 Best Mate 8 J Culloty H Knight
2002 Best Mate 7 J Culloty H Knight
2001 NO RACE      
2000 Looks Like Trouble 8 R Johnson N Chance
1999 See More Business 9 M Fitzgerald P Nicholls
1998 Cool Dawn 10 A Thornton R Alner
1997 Mr Mulligan 9 A McCoy N Chance
1996 Imperial Call 7 C O'Dwyer F Sutherland
1995 Master Oats 9 N Williamson K Bailey
1994 The Fellow 9 A Kondrat F Doumen
1993 Jodami 8 M Dwyer P Beaumont
1992 Cool Ground 10 A Maguire T Balding
1991 Garrison Savannah 8 M Pitman J pitman
1990 Norton's Coin 9 G McCourt S Griffiths

Check out RTE Racing's very own Tom Lee and his tips for the 2020 Cheltenham Festival.

Check out the full results for the following Cheltenham Gold Cups:

2000 Gold Cup Result | 2002 Gold Cup Result | 2003 Gold Cup Result | 2004 Gold Cup Result | 2005 Gold Cup Result | 2006 Gold Cup Result | 2007 Gold Cup Result | 2008 Gold Cup Result | 2009 Gold Cup Result | 2010 Gold Cup Result | 2011 Gold Cup Result | 2012 Gold Cup Result | 2013 Gold Cup Result