Past Champion Hurdle Winner Punjabi

Past Champion Hurdle Winners

The Champion Hurdle is for the speedsters at the Cheltenham Festival with the two-milers going breakneck speed over the hurdles. Since its first running in 1927, there have been five horses who have won the race three times in a row. Hatton's Grace was the first to do so and Sir Ken, Persian War, See You Then and Istabraq followed suit. Other famous winners of the race include Bula who won the race twice at the start of the seventies and Night Nurse and Sea Pigeon who both won the race twice.

Get the latest odds on the 2020 running of the Champion Hurdle.

Tim Molony is the most successful jockey in Champion Hurdle history having won the race four times whilst Peter Easterby holds the record of training winners with five.

Get a free bet to place on the Cheltenham Festival.

Champion Hurdle Winners

There was no race in 2001 due to the foot-and-mouth outbreak.

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2019 Espoir D'Allen 5 M Walsh G Cromwell
2018 Buveur D'Air 7 N Fehily N Henderson
2017 Buveur D'Air 6 N Fehily N Henderson
2016 Annie Power 8 R Walsh W Mullins
2015 Faugheen 7 R Walsh W Mullins
2014 Jezki 6 B Geraghty J Harrington
2013 Hurricane Fly 9 R Walsh W Mullins
2012 Rock On Ruby 7 N Fehily P Nicholls
2011 Hurricane Fly 7 R Walsh W Mullins
2010 Binocular 6 A McCoy N Henderson
2009 Punjabi 6 B Geraghty N Henderson
2008 Katchit 5 R Thornton A King
2007 Sublimity 7 P Carberry J Carr
2006 Brave Inca 8 A McCoy C Murphy
2005 Hardy Eustace 8 C O'Dwyer D Hughes
2004 Hardy Eustace 7 C O'Dwyer D Hughes
2003 Rooster Booster 9 R Johnson P Hobbs
2002 Hors La Loi III 7 D Gallagher J Fanshawe
2001 NO RACE      
2000 Istabraq 8 C Swan A O'Brien
1999 Istabraq 7 C Swan A O'Brien
1998 Istabraq 6 C Swan A O'Brien
1997 Make A Stand 6 A McCoy M Pipe
1996 Collier Bay 6 G Bradley J Old
1995 Alderbrook 6 N Williamson K Bailey
1994 Flakey Dove 8 M Dwyer R Price
1993 Granville Again 7 P Scudamore M Pipe
1992 Royal Gait 9 G McCourt J Fanshawe
1991 Morley Street 7 J Frost T Balding
1990 Kribensis 9 R Dunwoody M Stoute

Check out the full results for the following Cheltenham Champion Hurdles:

2000 Champion Hurdle Result | 2002 Champion Hurdle Result | 2003 Champion Hurdle Result | 2004 Champion Hurdle Result | 2005 Champion Hurdle Result | 2006 Champion Hurdle Result | 2007 Champion Hurdle Result | 2008 Champion Hurdle Result | 2009 Champion Hurdle Result | 2010 Champion Hurdle Result | 2011 Champion Hurdle Result | 2012 Champion Hurdle Result | 2013 Champion Hurdle Result